Steering Committee Report May 2024


We welcome to the Senate newly elected senators. Faculty Members-at-Large are: Dr. Guozhen An, Substitute Lecturer, Engineering Technology; Dr. Jonathan Cornick, Professor, Mathematics and Computer Science; Professor Miguel Long, Lecturer, Business; and Ben Murolo, Associate Professor, who returns as an FMAL senator after his service as Department Chair. HEOs are: Mr. Jeff Ballerini, Center for International Affairs, Immigration & Study Abroad; and Mr. Sean Persaud, College Discovery Program.



We thank all members of the non-teaching Instructional Staff, who have invested themselves in our college’s work through service in Shared Governance, either as senators or as members of Senate Standing Committees.



Further Senate elections will take place from the Senate floor at the May meeting. Committee on Committees will be electing four new members from any interested faculty nominees to replace the three who will rotate off, and to replace Julian Stark who was elected last May to serve a one-year term. Steering Committee members each serve one-year terms, so there will be an opportunity for any senator to run to fill any of those seats. Parliamentarian and Senate Technology Officer are other roles that will need to be filled by senators. Department chairs, encourage service from your faculty – all nominees should be named from the floor by their department chair.



We thank Artie Corradetti and The Mission Review Committee for their work in revising our Mission Statement, which also includes statements on our Vision, College Goals, and Values. The college community has been surveyed for input on these statements, and the Senate will vote in May to adopt this document.



The Senate will also have the happy task of voting to approve the list of May Candidates for Graduation. On behalf of the Senate, we congratulate all candidates.



This year's Partners for Progress Gala will be a special one -- Dr. Scott Litroff of the Music Department will lead and play in a band comprised of QCC alums and faculty member Daniel Garbin during the dinner and dancing portion of the evening. Scott's and Daniel's playing is outstanding and Scott is honored to be able to showcase the success of department alumni. Join us for an eevening of celebration.



As the academic year draws to a close, we thank Standing Committee Chairs and Secretaries for their leadership. Steering Committee works with Standing Committees to improve operations and we thank Parisa Assassi, Lorraine Cupelli, Sara Danzi Engoron, Katwicia Desruisseaux, Noelia Diaz, Isabella Lizzul, Neeraj Mehta, Jessica Prepetit, Vazgen Shekoyan, Anuradha Srivastava, Rex Taibu, Ron Van Cleef, Tanya Zhelezcheva, and Zhou Zhou who participated in Spring Chairs and Secretaries meetings.



As committee officers for 2024-2025 are elected and as the Senate and Standing Committees welcome incoming members, it’s a good time to thank you all again for your service – working together is a privilege.



Speaking of service, special thanks go to Scott Litroff and Phil Nelan for being excellent Steering Committee team members!




Academic Senate Steering Committee (

Dr. Steven Dahlke, Chair

Dr. Scott Litroff, Vice Chair

Prof. Philip Nelan, Secretary

Campus Cultural Centers

Kupferberg Holocaust Center exterior lit up at nightOpens in a new window
Kupferberg Holocaust Center Opens in a new window

The KHC uses the lessons of the Holocaust to educate current and future generations about the ramifications of unbridled prejudice, racism and stereotyping.

Russian Ballet performing at the Queensborough Performing Arts CenterOpens in a new window
QPAC: Performing Arts CenterOpens in a new window

QPAC is an invaluable entertainment company in this region with a growing national reputation. The arts at QPAC continues to play a vital role in transforming lives and building stronger communities.

Queensborough Art Gallery exterior in the afternoonOpens in a new window
QCC Art Gallery

The QCC Art Gallery of the City University of New York is a vital educational and cultural resource for Queensborough Community College, the Borough of Queens and the surrounding communities.