Academic Development/Elective Academic Programs

2016-2017: (9 Members)

Faculty Representatives (Name, Department, Term Ends)

  1. Tirandai Hemraj-Benny, Chemistry (2019) - Chairperson
  2. Anuradha Srivastava, Biological Sciences & Geology (2019)
  3. Jodi VanDerHorn-Gibson, Speech Communication & Theatre Arts (2019)
  4. Mirna Lekic, Music (2017) - Secretary
  5. Nicole Lopez-Jantzen, History (2018)
  6. Neera Mohess, Library (2018)
  7. Vazgen Shekoyan, Physics, (2018)
  8. Emily Berry, Health, Physical Education and Dance (2017)
  9. Yusuf Gurtas, Mathematics & Computer Science (2017)

Student Representatives

  1. Witkowski, Dominik
  2. Davi, Luca


  • Yuster, Richard, Engineering Technology, COC Liaison
  • Riekert, Susan, Nursing, Steering Committee Designee
  • Kathleen Landy, CETL, President's Liaison

Section 9. The Committee on Academic Development.

The Committee on Academic Development shall consist of nine (9) members of the instructional staff and two (2) students.

The Committee on Academic Development shall:

  1. Arrange for the presentation of lectures, seminars, workshops, and exhibits to specifically include effectiveness of instruction.
  2. Review, evaluate, and report to the Academic Senate on the system of student evaluation of faculty.
  3. Consult with the departments concerned, regarding specific programs being planned.
  4. Consult with the Director of External Affairs, the Director of the Performing Arts Center and the Vice President of Institutional Advancement regarding scheduling of events.
  5. Oversee and promote activities beneficial to elective programs such as the CUNY – BA/BS, International Studies, and Honors programs.

Documents and Articles | Agenda and Minutes | Events

Campus Cultural Centers

Kupferberg Holocaust Center
Kupferberg Holocaust Resource Center and Archives

Using the lessons of the Holocaust to educate current and future generations about the ramifications of unbridled prejudice, racism and stereotyping.

Queensborough Performing Arts Center
QPAC: Performing Arts Center

QPAC is an invaluable entertainment company in this region with a growing national reputation. The arts at QPAC continues to play a vital role in transforming lives and building stronger communities.

Queensborough Art Gallery
QCC Art Gallery

The QCC Art Gallery of the City University of New York is a vital educational and cultural resource for Queensborough Community College, the Borough of Queens and the surrounding communities.