Standing Committee on Affirmative Action

Mavis Hall
Affirmative Action Compliance Officer
Affirmative Action, Pluralism & Diversity / Compliance Office

Recruitment Initiatives

  • Ysabel Macea – Assistant Director, Personnel

  • Diane Carey – Lecturer, Speech Communication & Theatre Arts

  • Ellen Adams* – Director, Personnel

  • Kitty Bateman – Assoc. Prof., Basic Educational Skills; Director, QCC Literacy Program, Continuing Education

  • Jo Pantaleo – Director, Basic Educational Skills Learning Center

  • Isabel Hocevar – Director, Health Services

  • Liza Larios* - Asst. Dean, HR & Labor Relations

  • Paul Jean-Pierre – Assoc. Dean, Student Affairs

  • Lana Zinger – Assoc. Prof., Health, Physical Education & Dance

  • Nicholas Simos – Director, Mailroom

  • Mel Rodriguez – Director, Environmental Health & Safety

  • Traci Powell – CUNY Administrative Assistant, Office of Adjunct Services, Liaison

  • Tim Hillis – Director, Publications

  • Alice Doyle – Assistant Director, Public Relations

  • Cheryl Spencer – Assistant Professor, Nursing

  • Lisa Freeland – Assistant Registrar, Degree Works Coordinator, Registrar

  • Meg Tarafdar – Acting Coordinator, CETL

  • Gemma Martin – Purchasing Agent lll, Purchasing

  • Emil Parrinello – Information Systems Specialist, Information Technology

  • Elizabeth Watkins – Coordinator of New Student Advisement

  • Juan Carlos Fajardo – Academic Advisor, International Students Affairs/Center for Immigration

  • Andre Coombs - Academic Advisor, Academic Advisement

  • Rebecca De Jesus – Freshman Coordinator, Liberal Arts


Diversity Initiatives

  • Diane Carey – Lecturer, Speech Communication and Theatre Arts

  • Kitty Bateman – Assoc. Prof., Basic Education Skills; Director, QCC Literacy Program, Continuing Education

  • Trikartikaningsih Byas – Asst. Prof., English

  • Jo Pantaleo – Director, Basic Educational Skills Learning Center

  • Jilani Warsi – Assoc. Prof., Basic Educational Skills

  • Charles Neuman – Asst. Prof., Physics

  • Susan Peerzada –  Academic Advisor, Academic Advisement

  • Virginia Cowen – Asst. Prof., Massage Therapy

  • Margot Edlin – Asst. Prof., Basic Educational Skills

  • Alicia Sinclair – Asst. Prof., Health, Physical Education & Dance

  • Elizabeth Watkins – Coordinator Of New Student Advisement

  • Meg Tarafdar – Acting Coordinator, CETL

  • Luisa Garcia-Conde – Assoc. Prof., Foreign Languages & Literatures

Statement of Policy on Affirmative Action

It is the policy of the Board of Trustees and of Queensborough Community College, one of its constituent colleges, to recruit, employ, retain, and promote employees without regard to sex, race, age, national origin, color, religion, disability, veteran's status, or sexual orientation, and to admit and provide services and programs for students without regard to sex, race, age, national origin, proficiency in English, color, religion, disability, veteran's status, and sexual orientation.

With this statement, Queensborough Community College gives notice of its full commitment to affirmative action and to the regulations and policies that support affirmative action. For those members of the College community who are students, the policy of nondiscrimination in admission, services, and programs includes student recruitment, access to financial aid counseling, tutoring, advisement, and athletics. Questions regarding the application of this policy should be directed to the Office of the Dean of Students.

Additional information on the College Policy of Nondiscrimination and Sexual Harassment may be found in the College catalog and the publication on the Affirmative Action Plan of the College.

Governance Links

College Committees Links