Committee on Assessment and Institutional Effectiveness

2017-2020: (9 Members)

Faculty Representatives (Name, Department, Term Ends)

  1. Linda Meltzer, Business (2019) - Co-chairperson
  2. Mark Schiebe, English (2018) - Co-chairperson
  3. Andrea Salis, Health, Physical Education & Dance (2019)
  4. Maurizio Santoro, Foreign Languages & Literatures (2019)
  5. Franca Ferrari-Bridgers, Speech Communication & Theatre Arts (2018)
  6. Urszula Golebiewska, Biological Sciences and Geology (2018)
  7. Berkhout, Bjorn, Music (2020)
  8. Lee, Whan Ki, Mathematics & Computer Science (2020)
  9. Rome, Barbara, Nursing (2020)

Student Representatives

  1. Dominik Witowski
  2. JC Velasco


  1. , COC Liaison
  2. David Sarno, Chemistry, Steering Committee Designee
  3. Arthur Corradetti, Assoc. Dean, Strategic Planning & Assessment, President's Liaison

Section 11. Committee on Assessment and Institutional Effectiveness

The Committee on Assessment and Institutional Effectiveness shall consist of nine (9) members of the faculty and eligible staff, reflecting, where possible, a balanced representation of faculty from varied programs and curricula, with no more than one representative from any given department; and two (2) students.

The Committee on Assessment and Institutional Effectiveness shall:

  1. Receive and review summary reports describing initiatives to assess student learning from academic departments, academies, and academic programs of the college;
  2. Receive and review documents relating to assessments of institutional effectiveness from all non-academic units of the college;
  3. Make annual reports of progress in assessment of data collection, including:
    1. The receipt of assessment reports from each department/unit of the college;
    2. Courses/college units assessed from each department;
    3. Summary of Assessment data gathered from assessments;
    4. Any departmental conclusions drawn and/or actions taken as a result.
  4. Review assessment procedures the College undertakes and make recommendations concerning these assessment initiatives to the Academic Senate, in support of principles of shared governance, academic freedom and transparency.

Campus Cultural Centers

Kupferberg Holocaust Center (KHC)Opens in a new window
Kupferberg Holocaust Center Opens in a new window

Using the lessons of the Holocaust to educate current and future generations about the ramifications of unbridled prejudice, racism and stereotyping.

Queensborough Performing Arts CenterOpens in a new window
QPAC: Performing Arts CenterOpens in a new window

QPAC is an invaluable entertainment company in this region with a growing national reputation. The arts at QPAC continues to play a vital role in transforming lives and building stronger communities.

Queensborough Art GalleryOpens in a new window
QCC Art GalleryOpens in a new window

The QCC Art Gallery of the City University of New York is a vital educational and cultural resource for Queensborough Community College, the Borough of Queens and the surrounding communities.