## QUEENSBOROUGH COMMUNITY COLLEGE The City University of New York ACADEMIC SENATE

## **COMMITTEE ON PUBLICATIONS**

**TO**: Dr. John Talbird, Secretary, Academic Senate Steering Committee

**FROM**: Dr. Kathleen Tamayo Alves, Chair, Committee on Publications

**SUBJECT:** Annual Report for Committee on Publications for 2016/2017

**DATE: June 3, 2017** 

Committee members: Kathleen Alves, Raul Luiz Armendariz, Wendy Ford, Jennifer Maloy,

Danny Mangra, Chukwudi Ikwueze, Mohammed Javdan

President's Designee: Stephen Di Dio

Steering Committee Designee: Urszula Golebiewska

Chair: Kathleen Tamayo Alves Secretary: Raul Luiz Armendariz

Web Master: Wendy Ford

During the Fall 2016 & the Spring 2017 semesters the Committee on Publications met 7 times:

- 1. Wednesday, Septemebr 14, 2016 at 11 AM in H458.
- 2. Friday, October 28, 2016 at 2 PM in H458.
- 3. Monday, November 28, 2016 at 9 AM in H458.
- 4. Friday, February 17, 2017, at 10 AM in L315.
- 5. Wednesday, March 29, 2017 in H458.
- 6. Friday, April 28, 2017 at 11 AM in H458.
- 7. Wednesday, May 17, 2017 at 2 PM in H324.

## **Major Tasks Accomplished:**

1. During the 2015-2016 school year, the Committee on Publications received an email request from the Academic Senate Steering Committee on behalf of the subcommittee on Bullying (a subcommittee of the Committee on Environment, Quality of Life, and Disability Matters) to determine if the faculty-senate approved statement on bullying has been incorporated into the most recent copy of the Faculty Handbook. Kathleen was informed by Stephen Di Dio that the bullying

statement is now published. It can be found in the online Faculty handbook under Civility, and the College Catalog on page 2:

http://www.qcc.cuny.edu/governance/faculty/handbook/general-personnel-information.html#civility; http://www.qcc.cuny.edu/academics/docs/College-Catalog.pdf

- 2. The committee collaborated with Web Services and the Center for Teaching and Learning to instruct faculty on creating web pages that comply with the June 2016 American with Disabilities Act mandate. The workshop, "How to Create a QCC Webpage Using Cascade," was held at CETL (L315) and led by Dave Moretti from Web Services. 11 faculty members attended, outside of the committee members. The committee recommends hosting this workshop every year, with more efficient ways of publicizing the event. Though the committee informed department chairs of the event, with the intent to publicize the workshop to their departments, the committee suspects that the community dialogue would have created more exposure, interest, and attendance of the event.
- **3.** The committee determined the best department website of the year using last year's rubric developed by Jennifer Maloy: Nursing. Like last year, each committee member graded each department, with the exception of his or her department, and Kathleen calculated the average scores. Stephen Di Dio created the certificate and Wendy donated the frame for the certificate. Kathleen informed the Nursing chair, Prof. Menendez, of the award. Kathleen requested Dave Moretti to announce the award on the QCC homepage.
- **4.** The committee recommends:
  - Removing nonexisting publications in the Bylaws;
  - Deferring the web checking of dead links to Web Services, since they have a mechanism in their program to do so;
  - Keeping copies of the handbooks on the committee Blackboard website for future reference;
  - Investigating the changes regarding discrimination and sexual misconduct in the Faculty Handbook; Sangeeta Noel and Liza Larios informed the committee that these would be implemented by the 2018 term;
  - Investigating whether the handbooks satisfy the ADA mandate in content and format;
  - Investigating whether new adjuncts will receive new handbooks; Sangeeta Noel informed the committee that her office is in the process of completing the adjunct handbook;
  - Finally, to check with Vice President of Student Affairs Michel Hodge whether the handbooks will be available online.
- **5.** During the May 17<sup>th</sup>, 2017 meeting the committee unanimously elected **new chair**: Frank Jacob, **secretary**: Jennifer Maloy. Wendy Ford will remain as the committee's **Web Master**.

The Committee welcomes two **New Members**: Frank Jacob and Faustino Quintanillo

The Committee thanks **Departing Members**: Raul Luis Armendariz, Kathleen Tamayo Alves.