Queensborough Community College The City University of New York

MINUTES of the October 10, 2017 **Academic Senate**

President Diane Call called the first regularly scheduled meeting of the Academic Senate to order at 3:14 PM

I. Attendance:

62 votes were recorded at the time attendance was taken; members of the Academic Senate were present during the meeting.

Absentees: Timothy Lynch, Liza Larios, Kip Montgomery, Shele Bannon, Andrea Salis, Franca Ferrari, Michael Cesarano, Georgina Colalillo, Reuvain, Zahavy, Maan Lin, Barbara Blake-Campbell, Pedro Irigoyen, Peter Irigoyen, Richard Tayson.

II. Consideration of minutes of the May 9, 2017 meeting of the Academic Senate:

A motion was made, seconded, and adopted 58-7-0 to approve the September 12, 2017 minutes (see Attachment A of the October 10, 2017 Agenda). No: Mabelly Salvador, Jennice Chance, Sibyl Xie, Michael Fischbach, Jhostyn Gallardo, Maria Khamaraj. Did not vote: Joanne Chang.

III. Communications from:

1. President Call

President Call referred to her written report (Attachment B of the October 10, 2017 Agenda).

2. Senate Steering Committee Report

Chair Dr. Joel Kuszai referred to his written report (Attachment C of the October 10, 2017 Agenda).

Dr. Clingan engaged in a colloquy with Dr. Kuszai regarding history of QCC bullying resolution. The topic was opened to the floor. The creation of a subcommittee to explore the issue and propose remedies was raised by Dr. Kuszai.

IV. Monthly Reports of the Committees of the Academic Senate

- 1. Committee on Bylaws: RESOLUTION (Attachment G of the October 10, 2017 Agenda). A motion was made, seconded, and adopted 59-0-1 to approve the resolution.

Abstained: Edward Volchok. Did not vote: Anne Marie Menendez, Joseph Culkin, Georgia McGill, Wilma Fletcher-Anthony, Josephine Pantaleo, George Muchita.

2. Committee on Curriculum: The Academic Senate received the Monthly Report for May 2017 along with an articulation agreement (Attachments R and S of the May 9, 2017 Agenda) and acted on the following items:

1. New Courses57

PHYSICS DEPARTMENT

A motion was made, seconded, and adopted **58-0-2** to approve PH-401. Abstained: Sibyl Xie, Maria Khamraj. A motion was made, seconded, and adopted **58-1-1** to approve PH-402. No: Maria Khamraj. Abstained: Sibyl Xie. Did not vote: Anne Marie Menendez, Joseph Culkin, Georgia McGill, Wilma Fletcher-Anthony, Josephine Pantaleo, George Muchita.

MATHMATICS AND COMPUTER SCIENCE

A **motion** was **made**, **seconded**, and **adopted 55-0-2** to **approve** MA 010 ALP. Abstained: Sibyl Xie, Maria Khamraj. Did not vote: Diane Call, Bob Rogers, Sasan Karimi, Anne Marie Menendez, Joseph Culkin, Georgia McGill, Wilma Fletcher-Anthony, Josephine Pantaleo, George Muchita.

2. Program Revisions

PHYSICS DEPARTMENT

Switching from 3 semester to 2 semester calculus physics sequence Physics AS in Engineering Science.

A motion was made, seconded, and adopted 58-0-0 to approve the switch from 3 semester to 2 semester calculus physics sequence Physic AS in Engineering Science in the Physics Department. (See Attachment I of the October 2017 Agenda). Did not vote: Bob Rogers, Anne Marie Menendez, Joseph Culkin, Georgia McGill, Wilma Fletcher-Anthony, Alexandra Tarasko, Josephine Pantaleo, George Muchita.

DEPARTMENT OF CHEMISTRY

Changes in the Chemistry A.S. in Science for Forensics.

A motion was made, seconded, and adopted 58-0-0 to approve the changes in the Chemistry A.S. in Science for Forensics in the Department of Chemistry. (See Attachment I of the October 2017 Agenda). Did not vote: Bob Rogers, Anne Marie Menendez, Joseph Culkin, Georgia McGill, Wilma Fletcher-Anthony, Alexandra Tarasko, Josephine Pantaleo, George Muchita.

93 94 MATH + PHYSICS DEPARTMENTS 95

Addition of CS204 to the LS-AS program (Math) and addition of PH401 and PH402 to the LS-AS program (Physics).

A motion was made, seconded, and adopted 56-0-2 to approve the changes in the Math and Physics Departments. (*See Attachment I of the October 2017 Agenda*). Abstained: Sibyl Xie, Maria Khamraj. Did not vote: Bob Rogers, Anne Marie Menendez, Joseph Culkin, Georgia McGill, Wilma Fletcher-Anthony, Alexandra Tarasko, Josephine

103 Pantaleo, George Muchita.

105 VII. Old Business

109 VIII. New Business

110

111 SG President Mabely Salvador asked for the floor. She said that the SG Senate representatives had met

- 112 and did not approve of the new policy of listing SG representatives by name in the minutes. It was 113 decided that the Steering Committee would contact CUNY Legal Affairs and request clarification on 114 whether students could remain anonymous in the minutes.
- 115 116
- The meeting was adjourned at 4:20 PM
- 117
- 118 Respectfully Submitted,
- 119 John Talbird
- 120 Secretary, Steering Committee of the Academic Senate