# Queensborough Community College The City University of New York

#### **MEMORANDUM**

To: Dr. Joel Kuszai, Secretary, Academic Senate Steering Committee

From: Dr. Tian Ren, Chair, Committee on Bylaws

Subject: Annual Report for Committee on Bylaws for 2013-2014

**Date:** May 27, 2014

## The Committee on Bylaws

Members:

Antonella Ansani
Eva Goldhammer (Secretary)
Stephen Hammel
Devin McKay
Tian Ren (Chair)
Gabriel Sulaymanov (Student Representative)

Liaisons/Designees:
Peter Bales, Steering Committee Designee
Liza Larios, President's Designee
Richard Yuster, Committee on Committees Liaison

The Committee met on September 12, 2013, November 25, 2013, December 16, 2013, and May 12, 2014.

Our mission is to consider and make recommendations regarding the Bylaws of the Academic Senate, the Bylaws of the Board of Trustees and, upon request of the Executive Committee of the Faculty, the Bylaws of the Faculty.

#### Activity

The Committee set up a procedure for follow-up that bylaws changes have been recorded. Dr. Devin McKay checks that hard copies of bylaws are archived in the Library. Dr. Stephen Hammel checks online that bylaws are up to date. Dr. Eva Goldhammer communicates with the Committee on Publications for updating bylaws in Faculty Handbook.

Removal of the Academic Senate Committee on Ceremonial Occasions

Since the Academic Senate voted not to designate any ceremonial occasions of the College on May 14, 2013, the Committee on Ceremonial Occasions has no event with which it can exercise its charge and no support from the Academic Senate to have an event designated by policy as a ceremonial occasion of the College. The Bylaws Committee voted unanimously that the Committee on Ceremonial Occasions be removed as a standing committee of the Academic Senate and Article VII, Section 15 of the Academic Senate Bylaws be removed.

The resolution was not passed by the Academic Senate on February 11, 2014.

• Revision to Bylaws of the Academic Senate on the Size and Terms for Faculty and Instructional Staff on the Standing Committees

This recommendation seeks to give faculty and instructional staff more opportunity to serve on standing committees of the Academic Senate by implementing two changes:

- 1. Increasing the number of faculty members on each of the seventeen standing committees.
- 2. Increasing continuity on standing committees of the Academic Senate by having faculty members serve a three-year term with one-third of a committee's faculty membership rotating off a committee at the end of the spring semester.

The Bylaws Committee unanimously approved this proposal. The resolution was approved by the Academic Senate on February 11, 2014.

• Implementation of the recommendation to revise Bylaws Article VII, Section 2, Paragraphs 2 and 3.

The former Bylaws Committee recommend that the use of standing committee, sub-committee, and special committee in these paragraphs should be clarified. The current Bylaws Committee consulted with Dr. Peter Bales, and revised Bylaws. The recommendation was approved by the Academic Senate on February 11, 2014.

• Change on the Academic Senate Committee on Continuing Education

The proposal was reviewed and revised at the joint meeting on May 12, 2014. The new committee for the 2014-2015 academic year will vote on this proposal after receiving feedbacks from the Committee on Continuing Education.

### Changes to the Bylaws Committee

The new committee for the 2014-2015 academic year will be as follows:

Derek Bruzewicz (Secretary)
Eva Goldhammer
Stephen Hammel (Chair)
Ee Stiun Hong (Student representative)
Tian Ren
Alicia Sinclair
Elizabeth Sutton

Liaisons/Designees: Liza Larios, President's Designee

There is currently no Steering Committee Designee, or Committee on Committees Designee for the 2014-2015 academic year.

Respectfully submitted,

Tian Ren