## QUEENSBOROUGH COMMUNITY COLLEGE The City University of New York ACADEMIC SENATE

## COMMITTEE ON ACADEMIC DEVELOPMENT AND ELECTIVE PROGRAMS

Telephone Fax Email

**TO**: Sheila Beck, Secretary, Academic Senate Steering Committee

**FROM**: Urszula Golebiewska, Chair, Committee on Academic Development and Elective

**Programs** 

**SUBJECT:** Annual Report for Committee on Academic Development and Elective

**Programs for 2010/2011** 

**DATE: July 09, 2011** 

## **Committee members:**

Urszula Golebiewska (Chair)
Kelly Ford (Secretary)
Virginia Cowen
Jeffrey Jankowski
Nicholas Di Zinno
Vour Clarke (student)
Helene Dunkelblau, Steering Committee's Designee
Michele Cuomo, President's Designee

Committee met four times during the spring and fall semesters. The meetings took place on Tuesday's October 26<sup>th</sup>, November 30<sup>th</sup>, February 8<sup>th</sup>, and May 18<sup>th</sup> at 2:15 pm.

During the first meeting the Committee on Academic Development discussed committee charges and recommendations from the previous year. Specifically, the committee reviewed the survey to chairs regarding evaluation form of the faculty; due to the ambiguous results of the survey the committee decided to perform the survey in few more years when more information is acquired. The committee decided to renew connections and work with CETL on development of events for faculty. The committee invited Meghmala Tarafdar to the meeting on November 30<sup>th</sup>. Prior to the discussion with Meg the committee reviewed list of workshops and seminars offered by CETL. After a fruitful discussion the committee decided to develop a "fishbowl event" on instructional technology. The event was held on Wednesday, March 2<sup>nd</sup>, 2011 and titled:"Fishbowl Event Faculty Perspectives on Instructional Technology". The reception was in general positive. The committee decided to recommend further development of similar events.

**Recommendations:** Continue to work with CETL on faculty development events and promotion of them.

## **New Committee members (2011/2012):**

Urszula Golebiewska (Chair)
Peter Gray (Secretary)
Sandra Marcus
Andrea Salis
Howard Sporn
Karen Steele, President's Designee
Helene Dunkelblau, Steering Committee Designee