# QUEENSBOROUGH COMMUNITY COLLEGE

THE CITY UNIVERSITY OF NEW YORK

Committee on Course & Standing

Minutes for the meeting held on May 28th, 2014

The Committee on Course and Standing met on May 28th, 2014 at 10:00 a.m. in Room # A 104

Those in attendance were as follows:

### Dr. Steven Dahlke, Chair.

Dr. Rose-Marie Aikas, Social Science, Dr. Andrew Nguyen - Biology, Dr. Nina Sarkar, Business, Dr. Jilani Warsi, Academic Literacy Dr. Jannette Urciuoli - Counseling, Dr. Kathy Wentrack - Art and Photography.

### Excused:

Prof. Georgina Colalillo – Nursing Department, Dr. Haishen Yao, Mathematic & Computer Science.

### New Members:

Ms. Gina Capozzoli, Counseling, Dr. Hayes Mauro, Art & Design, Prof. Devin McKay, Library, Dr. Jun Shin, Chemistry, Prof. Margret Stroehlein, Nursing.

Excused – Dr. George Fraopoulos, English.

#### Administration Representatives:

Ms. Meera Chowdhry, Committee Secretary

## Discussion:

The Committee met to review the Late/Retroactive Withdrawals.

Dr. Dahlke invited the new member to the Committee for the academic year 2014-2015. However, Prof. Margret Stroehlein from Nursing would not be able to continue with the Committee on Course & Standing due to other commitments, conflicting with the Fridays, which usually are set for the CCS meetings.

Dr. Jilani Warsi who was not assigned the Committee Membership for the years 2014-15 showed his willingness and availability to replace her and continue as a member to the Committee. The Chair, Dr. Dahlke has agreed to forward his request with recommendation to Dr. Cheryl Spencer, Chair to the Committee on Committees for consideration.

There has been some policy changes during the year 2013-2014 e.g. there would no longer be an academic alert and the student would be directly placed on academic probation, if they do not meet academic standards. Dr. Dahlke informed the Committee Members that the changes would be incorporated in the Committee hand book available on the Web.

The motion was started by the present Chair, Dr. Steven Dahlke to nominate Dr. Nina Sarkar, the chair for the next year. Dr. Kathleen Wentrack seconded and subsequently Dr. Sarkar was unanimously elected the Chair.

Dr. Dahlke apprised the Committee members that Dr. Sarkar has the leadership and the willingness to work for the Committee and that she is apt in making decision and that she is an appropriate choice for the nomination. The secret ballots were then collected from the new and staying members and were submitted to the archives with Ms. Constance Williams, College Archivist.

	<b>Total Appeals</b>	Approved	Denied	Conditional Approval	No Jurisdiction
Late/Retroactive/W	69	26	36	2	5

The tentative date for the next meeting is set for June 25<sup>th</sup>, 2014 to review the dismissal appeal for the Spring 2014.