QCC COMMITTEE on COMPUTER RESOURCES

An Academic Senate Standing Committee

Minutes Meeting of December 19, 2011 at 9:00 am

Members in Attendance: John Buoncora, Wendy Ford, Nidhi Gadura, G. Michael Guy, Peijun (Jeffrey) Jia, Jo Pantaleo, Vazgen Shekoyan, George Sherman, Amy Traver

The meeting began at 9am with discussion of the minutes from the last meeting. After careful review, Jo, Amy, and Michael proposed changes to minutes (additional changes were later submitted by George).

Amy asked George to speak about the Tech Plan, which was presented to the Senate on 5/10/11. George referenced that the plan was not written in stone, and that the plan's implementation was a long process. He reiterated that the plan included an administrative commitment to smart classrooms and smart classrooms lite. Amy mentioned that committee input into the Tech Plan was evident in the final Tech Plan document. George concurred.

Amy asked the committee to think about plans for the upcoming academic year and to think about the contents of the 2010-2011 year-end committee report. The committee agreed that the creation of a Blackboard site to facilitate committee communications, improvement of the committee's archives, and the creation of a communications mechanism to facilitate faculty contact with the ACC & IT (e.g., a submissions page accessed via the faculty ACC webpage) were all good areas for the committee's future attention. The committee also discussed a way to educate faculty about how to document their technology needs (e.g., speak to your chair about your needs \rightarrow if response insufficient, speak to the committee \rightarrow committee speaks to chair or appropriate departments or committees {like Tech fee} on campus). The committee discussed developing a systematic mechanism by which faculty acquire technology, as well; a CETL grants program developed to support faculty technology efforts was again proposed. George also asked for the committee's support in advertising the IT department's security awareness efforts.

The committee then turned to electing the 2011-2012 committee Chair and Secretary. Michael nominated Amy for Chair, and Amy agreed to serve. Voting ensued and Amy was elected chair. Michael nominated Nidhi for Secretary, and Nidhi agreed to serve. Voting ensued and Nidhi was elected Secretary.

Amy announced that she would be reaching out to all committee members in August to establish the day/time of their first committee meeting.

The meeting concluded at 9:30am.

Respectfully submitted,

Amy Traver Secretary & Chair