QUEENSBOROUGH COMMUNITY COLLEGE THE CITY UNIVERSITY OF NEW YORK

Report to the Academic Senate

September 29, 2017

From: Dr. Helmut Loeffler, Chairperson of the Committee on Committees

To: Dr. John Talbird, Secretary of the Academic Senate Steering Committee

Monthly Report of the Committee on Committees for September 2017

I. New Academic Senate Committee Members

Whenever vacancies on committees become available, the members of the Committee on Committees (CoC) vote via e-mail to appoint new members. Here are the changes that the CoC were made aware of, voted on, and approved.

A. Committee on Academic Development/Elective Academic Programs

To fill a vacancy left by the resignation of Dr. Lopez-Jantzen (History), the CoC named Dr. Manachanallur Ravi (Mathematics & Computer Science) to this committee.

B. Committee on e-Learning

To fill a vacancy left by the resignation of Prof. Hamid Namdar (Engineering Technology), the CoC named Dr. Jefferson Hall (History) to this committee.

C. Committee on Food Insecurity

The Committee on Food Insecurity was officially established and the following members were elected: Dr. Emily Tai (History); Dr. Susan Jacobowitz (English); Dr. Peter Bales (History); Prof. Liz DiGorgio (Art and Design); Dr. Chukwudi Ikwueze (Social Sciences); Prof. John Gilleaudeau (Social Sciences); Prof. Sebastian Murolo (Business); Dr. Lana Zinger (Health and Physical Education and Dance); Dr. Sharon Ellerton (Biology)

II. New Academic Senate Member of the HEO series

As a result of the retirement of Ann Tullio a vacancy for a member of the HEO series representative for the Academic Senate needed to be filled. The CoC conducted the election at the meeting of the Academic Senate on September 12 and Chief Diversity Officer Josephine Pantaleo (Affirmative Action/Compliance Office) was elected to serve through April 2018.

III. 2017-2018 Planning for the Election of Members-At-Large and Nominating Petitions for Committee Service

The Chair of the CoC had multiple meetings with Jeffrey Schwartz, the Senate Technology Officer, Dr. Joel Kuscai, chair of the Steering Committee, and the former chair of the Committee on Committees, Dr. Christine Mooney, to begin planning for the 2017-2018 elections for the Academic Senate and petitions to serve on the Academic Senate Committees.

Respectfully submitted,

Dr. Helmut Loeffler

Chairperson, Committee on Committees