# QUEENSBOROUGH COMMUNITY COLLEGE

# The City University of New York ACADEMIC SENATE COMMITTEE ON BYLAWS

To: Dr. Joel Kuszai, Secretary, Academic Senate Steering Committee

From: Stephen W. Hammel, Chair

Subject: Annual Report for Committee on Bylaws for 2015-2016

Date: June 27, 2016

### 2015/2016 Committee Members:

Dr. Michael Altimari

Dr. Derek Bruzewick (Secretary)

Stephen W. Hammel, Esq. (Chair)

Dr. Todd Holden

Dr. Alicia Sinclair

Prof. Elizabeth Sutton

Ee Stiun Hong (Student Representative)

### <u>Liaisons/Designees</u>:

Dean Liza Larios, President's Designee

Dr. Jean Murley, Committee for Committees Liaison

Dr. Philip Pecorino, Steering Committee Designee.

### Dates of Bylaws Committee Meetings:

The Committee met on the following dates: November 18, 2015, December 16, 2015, February 10, 2016 and May 11, 2016. The committee meetings were held on Wednesdays during

club hours. Thereafter, the members decided to set our official future meeting time as Wednesday between 12:00 PM and 1:30 PM.

### Summary of Activities:

The Committee specifically reviewed and acted upon the Senate Charges for the 2015/2016 year with the following results:

- \* The Committee continued to review the Bylaws and the information posted on the QCC website for both consistency and correctness. Drs. Todd Holden and Michael Altimari, members of the Committee, reported that based on their review of the Bylaws and posted materials that they are in fact correct for the period of their examination. However, the Committee acknowledges that this review should be a constant and ongoing process and should therefore continue each year.
- \* The Committee, as requested, continued to follow up on outstanding resolutions and now reports that the Resolution relating to the re-designation of The Committee on Continuing Education to The Committee on Continuing Education and Workforce Development was successfully approved by the Senate at its February 16, 2016 meeting and was listed as Attachment F in the Agenda.
- \* The Committee, as requested, continued to follow up on outstanding resolutions and now reports that the Resolution relating to The Committee on Publications was successfully approved by the Senate at its February 16, 2016 meeting and was listed as Attachment G in the Agenda.
- \* The Committee, as requested, continued to follow up on outstanding resolutions and now reports that the Resolution relating to The Committee on Ceremonial Occasions was successfully approved by the Senate at its April 12, 2016 meeting and was listed as Attachment F in the Agenda. However, it is important to note that this Recommendation was unusual in that it actually contained a choice of two separate recommendations for the Senate to consider. Ultimately, the Senate voted and approved the second choice contained in that Resolution which read "THEREFORE, the Senate should immediately vote to designate at least one official ceremonial occasion, such as graduation or other significant event and thereafter promptly populate the membership of said Committee."
- \* The Committee, as requested, continued to follow up on outstanding resolutions and now reports that the Resolution dated April 27, 2015 relating to The Honors Committee is still pending submission to the Senate. This Committee understands that the Honors Program has been very successful and is a testament to the dedication of our faculty and administration to the students. We will to continue to assist the Senate in regard to this Resolution.
- \* The Committee researched, considered and discussed, as requested, the implications of the *Perez* decision in regard to quorum, voting, discussions via email and the open-meeting law. We have identified several issues relating to the actual impact on the various administrative bodies of the College, including but not limited to our standing committees. Therefore, due to the complexity of the decision and the way in which we are structured, additional time is required to

draft an opinion or resolution for the Senate to consider. We will continue to work on these matters and will have additional guidance for the Senate in the upcoming 16/17 year.

- \* The Committee is focused on an additional matter; I have met with Dr. David Sarno, Chair of the Committee on Committees relating to the issue of voting and self-nominations to Standing Committees. Our discussion indicated that specific additional language needs to be drafted and agreed upon. We will meet early in the fall of 2016 at a date mutually acceptable to committee members.
- \* The Committee has discussed and considered, as requested, the typesetting issue which has existed in the Bylaws Article VII, Section 2, Paragraphs 2 and 3. We have worked closely with Dr. Philip Pecorino who has provided copies of previous records from the 1970's and Prof. Elizabeth Sutton who obtained copies from QCC Archivist C. Williams in order to confirm the typographical nature of the problem. We anticipate completing the investigation and will notify The Senate of our findings.
- \* The Committee will continue its work on the WID/WAC Bylaws Committee revisions in the upcoming 16/17 year.
- \*We welcomed our new members, Dr. Susan Jacobowitz, Prof. Richard Micieli and Prof. Margaret Stroehlein at our last meeting in May. We also thanked Dr. Todd Holden, Dr. Alicia Sinclair and Prof. Elizabeth Sutton for their service to the Committee. Additionally, the Committee thanked Dr. Derek Bruzewick for his service to the Committee as Secretary.
- \* Additional thanks were extended to Dean Liza Larios, Dr. Philip Pecorino and Dr. Jean Murley for their continued support and dedication to the Committee.
- \* Elections for Officers were held for both Chair and Secretary. I informed the members that my term on the Committee was expiring next year, and that a new Chair should transition into that position. Therefore, Dr. Derek Bruzewick volunteered to serve and was unanimously elected by the members. Prof. Margaret Stroehlein then volunteered to serve as Secretary and was also unanimously elected by the members.

### Changes to The Bylaws Committee:

The new Committee for the 2016-2017 academic year will be as follows; Committee Members:

Prof. Michael Altimari

Dr. Derek Bruzewick (Chair)

Stephen W. Hammel, Esq.

Dr. Susan Jacobowitz

Prof. Richard Micieli

Prof. Margaret Stroehlein (Secretary)

Ee Stiun Hong (Student Representative)

## Liaisons/Designees:

Dean Liza Larios, President's Designee

Dr. Jean Murley, Committee for Committees Liaison

Dr. Philip Pecorino, Steering Committee Designee.

Respectfully Submitted,

Stephen W. Hammel, Chair