QUEENSBOROUGH COMMUNITY COLLEGE THE CITY UNIVERSITY OF NEW YORK

Report to the Academic Senate

March 27th, 2017

From: Prof. Christine Mooney, Chairperson of the Committee on Committees

To: Dr. Joel Kuszai, Secretary of the Academic Senate Steering Committee

Monthly Report of the Committee on Committees for March 2017

I. Academic Senate Roster

There were no changes to the membership of the Academic Senate in March 2017.

II. Standing Committees of the Academic Senate

There were no changes to the membership of the Standing Committees in March 2017. The Committee on Ceremonial Occasions has three vacancies. Those vacancies will be filled by the COC based upon those individuals who volunteered for service during the February selection period.

III. Senate Elections

As detailed in the February 2017 report, nominating petitions were distributed to faculty and staff for the election of new Faculty Members-at-Large. The Senate consists of 41 Faculty Members-at-Large and 2 CLT Members-at-Large. 17 Faculty were nominated for 14 positions, all of which will run through April 2020. 9 of 17 faculty candidates provided personal statements, which Joel Kuszai posted on the website. The election was conducted online from Monday, March 6th through Monday March 20th at 5 pm. The online system was managed by Jeffrey Schwartz (Senate Technology Officer) with assistance from Raj Vaswani (Information Technology).

The results of the Senate elections are tabulated below:

Current Senators who were re-elected (9): Belle Birchfield, Barbara Blake-Campbell, Georgina Colalillo, Wilma Fletcher-Anthony, Kelly Ford, Andrea Salis, Jeffrey Schwartz, Julian Stark, Jannette Urciuoli

Current Senators who were not re-elected (2): Simran Kaur, Anthony Kolios

Current Senators who did not run for re-election (3): Joan Dupre, Amy Traver, Eileen White

New Senators (5): Steven Dahlke, Larisa Honey, Sebastian Murolo, Kenneth Pearl, Joan Petersen

Rank	Candidate	Votes	%	
1	Andrea Salis, Health,	152	57.58	reelected
2	Barbara Blake-Campt	146	55.3	reelected
3	Steven Dahlke, Music	144	54.55	newly elected
4	Jannette Urciuoli, Co	140	53.03	reelected
5	Wilma Fletcher-Antho	131	49.62	reelected
6	Belle Birchfield, Engi	124	46.97	reelected
6	Julian Stark, Biologic	124	46.97	reelected
8	Kelly Ford, Business	122	46.21	reelected
8	Jeffrey Schwartz, Eng	122	46.21	reelected
10	Georgina Colalillo, Nu	121	45.83	reelected
10	Larisa Honey, Social S	121	45.83	newly elected
12	Joan Petersen, Biolog	120	45.45	newly elected
13	Simran Kaur, Biologic	110	41.67	not elected, dept. at maximum
14	Sebastian Murolo, Bu	100	37.88	newly elected
15	Anthony Kolios, Busir	97	36.74	not elected, dept. at maximum
16	Kenneth Pearl, Histor	94	35.61	newly elected
17	Frank Jacob, History	82	31.06	not elected

FACULTY MEMBER-AT-LARGE CANDIDATES

IV. Nominations to Standing Committees of the Academic Senate

Faculty and HEOs were invited to select the committees on which they would prefer to serve via an online system that was available from Feb. 9 through Feb. 22. The database was managed by Raj Vaswani and the list of eligible instructional staff was assembled by Debra DiBattista (Human Resources and Labor Relations). At least two reminder emails were sent out during the selection period. 129 members of the instructional staff indicated their committee preferences. There are a total of 129 committee seats and 40 open positions. The ballots were prepared by the COC and sent to the instructional staff on March 21st, two weeks before the April 4th meeting of the Academic Senate.

Respectfully submitted,

Christine Mooney

Christine Mooney, Esq.

Chairperson, Committee on Committees