## QUEENSBOROUGH COMMUNITY COLLEGE THE CITY UNIVERSITY OF NEW YORK

# COMMITTEE ON WRITING IN THE DISCIPLINES/WRITING ACROSS THE CURRICULUM (WID/WAC)

## ANNUAL REPORT ACADEMIC YEAR 2008 – 2009

## **Membership**

#### Officers:

Dr. Jeffery J. Jankowski (Social Sciences), Chair

Prof. Marvin Gayle (Electrical and Computer Engineering Technology), Secretary

#### Members:

Prof. Indra Avens (Foreign Languages and Literature)

Prof. Lawrence Bentley (Nursing)

Prof. Sandra Marcus (Library Public Relations)

## Liaisons/Designees

Dr. Nidhi Gadura, (Biological Sciences and Geology), Steering Committee Designee

Dr. Paul Marchese (Academic Affairs), President's Designee

Dr. Jan Ramjerdi, (English), COC Liaison

#### Ex-Officio:

Dr. Linda Stanley (English), Co-Director, QCC WID/WAC Program

Dr. Peter Gray (English), Co-Director, QCC WID/WAC Program

## **Committee Meetings**

The WID/WAC Committee met seven times during the 2008-2009 academic year. The meetings were held on the following dates: September 23, October 28, November 25, December 16, February 3, March 31, and May 12. The minutes for each of the meetings are available for review on the website for the QCC Academic Senate. The committee acknowledges the service of the secretary, Prof. Gayle, in preparing the minutes.

### **Summary of Committee Work**

Bylaw Charges / Committee Responses

(1) **Bylaw Charge**: Oversee and make recommendations to the Academic Senate related to the WID/WAC Program.

The Committee made no formal recommendations to the QCC Academic Senate during the 2008-2009 academic year.

Dr. Emily Tai, Chair of the Academic Senate, asked the committee to consider the ramifications of having all online course section designated as writing intensive. The committee was in favor of such a designation as long as the instructors were certified as writing intensive faculty. Online courses by their nature require much writing.

(2) Bylaw Charge: Review and recommend changes in the criteria for a writing intensive (WI) class to the Academic Senate for its approval.

The committee made no recommended changes in the criteria for a writing intensive (WI) class to the QCC Academic Senate during the 2008-2009 academic year.

(3) **Bylaw Charge:** Oversee a continuing WID/WAC Faculty Professional Development Program with the Office of Academic Affairs.

The Co-Directors of the WID/WAC Professional Development Program kept the Committee informed throughout the year of the WI training programs. One the sessions ran in the Fall semester while the other ran in the Spring semester. Additional sessions were run throughout the academic year, particularly in the Spring semester, to accommodate faculty who were teaching writing intensive sections and simultaneously being trained.

(4) **Bylaw Charge:** Hear and decide student cases requesting a waiver from any WI degree requirements.

The Committee spent a significant portion of time hearing and deciding requests for WI waivers. The number of waiver requests presented to the committee fluctuates on a meeting-by-meeting basis. Each case is scrutinized carefully with considerable thought given to the justification for a waiver. The committee acknowledges the considerable time Dr. Paul Marchese from Academic Affairs spends in preparing the cases for the committee.

Based on the cases the committee hears, two likely problems impede students' ability to fulfill their writing intensive requirement. (1) Students are not aware of the requirement. It should be noted that this problem is declining due to the vigilance of advisors, improvements in online registration, and reminders mailed to students by Academic Affairs. (3) WI sections are not clearly labeled in the course schedule on the web. This problem is expected to decline over the coming academic year due to improvements in the course schedule that is online.

(5) Bylaw Charge: Provide a list of current WI certified classes and the instructors certified to teach WI classes to the department chairs who will make the final decision on the designation of a course or section as WI each semester.

The Co-Directors of the WID/WAC program provided copies of all WI-certified classes and instructors at the beginning of each semester. All course offerings with WI designations during Fall 2008, Spring 2009, and Summer 2009 were approved unanimously and certified by the Committee.

(6) Bylaw Charge: Insure through a certification and recertification process that all classes designated as WI meet the criteria for a WI class.

The Co-Directors kept the committee informed of the status of the faculty teaching the WI sections. Course sections designated as WI had faculty who were WI certified.

It should be noted that in the Fall semester, a situation arose whereby three faculty from the Business department were serving as instructors in WI sections without WI certification. The committee was alerted to this situation hoping that these instructors could be trained quickly and WI status on the course sections retained. Unfortunately, the instructors were not able to be sufficiently trained in the available time and the WI designation was removed from the sections. The committee acted in accordance with the charge in the bylaws that faculty teaching in WI sections need WI certification.

(7) **Bylaw Charge:** Provide the Committee on Committees with a list of faculty members who are participating in the WID/WAC program.

Throughout the academic year, the Co-Directors provided the committee with a list of faculty who were eligible to teach WI courses (i.e. faculty who went through the WI training).

#### **Matters of Interest**

- The committee welcomes Professors M. Elias, W. Ford, and K. Wentrack to serve on the committee for the 2009-2010 academic year.
- The committee thanks Professors I. Avens, M. Gayle, and S. Marcus who will be leaving the committee at the end of the 2008-2009 academic year.
- Professor J. Jankowski was elected to serve as the chair of the committee for the 2009-2010 academic year.
- The chairperson would like to thank all members who served on the committee throughout the academic year.

Respectfully submitted,

Jeffery J. Jankowski Chairperson, 2008-2009