Queensborough Community College The City University of New York

MEMORANDUM

To: Devin McKay, Secretary, Academic Senate Steering Committee

From: David M. Sarno, Chair, Bylaws Committee

Date: June 15, 2009

Re: Bylaws Committee, Annual Report 2008-2009

The Committee on Bylaws, 2008-2009

Members: Sarah Danielsson Caf Dowlah Joseph Goldenberg Kate Montero (Student representative) David Sarno (Chair) Cheryl Spencer (Secretary)

Liaisons/Designees: Liza Larios, President's Designee Bryn Mader, Steering Committee Designee Jan Ramjerdi, Committee on Committees Designee

Our mission is to consider and make recommendations regarding the Bylaws of the Academic Senate, the Bylaws of the Board of Trustees and, upon request of the Executive Committee of the Faculty, the Bylaws of the Faculty.

Activity

The committee met on October 22, 2008 and May 21, 2009. One item was handled entirely via email from March 26 until April 7, 2009. Our work this year addressed the following matters.

1. Chairmanship of the Academic Senate

Following the Middle States self-study, there was a concern that the Academic Senate Bylaws might be interpreted to indicate that the Senate was chaired by the college president, which would be in conflict with the Middle States requirement that accredited institutions possess "*a governing body not chaired by the chief executive officer*." Two proposals were sent to the Bylaws Committee for review; one from President Marti and one from Paul Weiss. After thorough discussion that was supported by presentations from representatives of the Academic Senate and Faculty Executive Committee, the Bylaws Committee unanimously voted that there was no need to amend the bylaws as they very clearly state that the president is the *presiding officer* of the Academic Senate, but this body is *chaired* by the Chair of the Steering Committee.

2. Change in order of business of Academic Senate meetings

A vote was deferred on a proposal to include "Approval of Agenda" in the order of business. There was a concern that this could be used to block or drop items from the agenda or to place items without sufficient time for review. The Committee recommended that the proposal be resubmitted with clarification of the intention, as well as a mechanism by which changes may be made, including who may make them.

3. Designation of a Senate Technology Officer and Parliamentarian

The Committee unanimously voted to amend Article I, Section 4 of the Bylaws to include a new officer of the Academic Senate, the Senate Technology Officer, as well as a mechanism for filling this position, in the event of a vacancy.

4. Scheduling of Academic Senate meetings

The Committee unanimously voted to amend Article II, Section 2 of the Bylaws to clarify when Academic Senate meetings would be scheduled. The intention was to avoid holding Senate meetings on Tuesdays when Tuesday classes have not been scheduled by the University. In this case, as with holidays, the meeting shall be held on the Tuesday immediately following.

5. Formalization of the responsibilities of Senate Technology Officer

The Bylaws Committee responded to a proposal presented by the Chair of the Steering Committee of the Academic Senate to amend Article I, Section 4 of the Bylaws which would formalize the responsibilities of the new office of Senate Technology Officer. In order to hasten the process so that it could make it onto the agenda of the upcoming Senate meeting, the proposal language was discussed, revised, and unanimously approved via email. The resolution also clarified the method by which the Senate Technology Officer would be nominated and elected. The Academic Senate eliminated one of the items and then approved the changes to the Bylaws.

Changes to the Bylaws Committee

The new committee for the 2009-2010 academic year will be as follows:

Caf Dowlah Joseph Goldenberg Christine Mooney (Secretary) Janice Molloy David Sarno (Chair)

Liaisons/Designees: Liza Larios, President's Designee There is currently no Steering Committee Designee, Committee on Committees Designee, or student representative for the 2009-2010 academic year.

Final remarks

To the best of our knowledge, there are no pending items that require our attention.

All changes to the Bylaws that have been approved by the Academic Senate have been forwarded to the QCC Webmaster to post on the QCC Governance website.

Thanks are due to all members of the Bylaws Committee, both continuing and outgoing, for their contributions and their collegiality as we worked together on the issues brought before us. Welcome to Janice Molloy and Christine Mooney, the newest members of the Committee.

Respectfully submitted, David M. Sarno June 15, 2009