## QUEENSBOROUGH COMMUNITY COLLEGE THE AWARDS AND SCHOLARSHIP COMMITTEE

**To**: The Academic Senate

From: Jenny (Maan) Lin, Chairperson

**Date**: June 20, 2009

Subject: ANNUAL REPORT 2008-09

Members:

Jenny Lin, Chair David Rothman Constance Williams

<u>President's Designee</u> Vice President Ellen Hartigan

Senate Steering Committee Designee Christina Manzo

The Awards and Scholarship Committee met several times in academic year 2008-09 to evaluate and recommend nominations for the following awards and scholarships:

- 1. John F. Kennedy Memorial Award–given to Anthony Angulo, a graduating student who has demonstrated outstanding leadership in the college and community;
- 2. **Martin Luther King Jr. Memorial Award**–given to Champion Nichols, a graduating student who has demonstrated exceptional leadership in promoting racial harmony and appreciation of cultural diversity;
- 3. **Incentive Awards**–given to Miriana Fable and Olugbenga Kolawole, two day students who have demonstrated outstanding academic performance and are working parents:
- 4. **Ray Ricketts Memorial Award**–given to Daniel Sangobanwo, a returning student (left college at one point) who exhibits exceptional scholarship and leadership;
- 5. Women's Club Awards–given to Melissa Dindial, who has demonstrated outstanding leadership and service to the College community;
- 6. The Meredith Young Award–given to Amy Ayala, a single mother who has successfully completed a Basic Skills Writing Class (BE-112 OR BE-205), and has completed requirements for a degree;

- 7. Academic Merit Scholarship–given to 18 current students who have demonstrated outstanding academic performance (a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.25 required): Vyacheslav Aminov, Jing Jing Bao, Kathleen Capogrosso, Paulton Chan, Christine Chang, Shawn Fahrer, Jennifer Freire, Hyunhee Hwang, Billy Jnohope, Karolina Kedzierska, Mishel Khan, Parbatie Khemraj, Sin Dee Loke, Yiu Bun Benny Mok, Wasana Rajapkshe, Edmond Williams, Chi Kwan Wong, Yekaterina Yusupova;
- 8. Who's Who in American Junior Colleges—given to 39 students who demonstrate scholarship, active participation in college and community activities, and potential for continued development (a minimum of 30 credits completed required):
  - 1. Mr. Augustin E. Aguie
  - 2. Ms. Fatima N. Ali
  - 3. Mr. Anthony A. Angulo
  - 4. Ms. Alexandra Bayona
  - 5. Ms. Kayle R. Berenson
  - 6. Ms. Samantha Boursiquot
  - 7. Ms. Angelica Cordero
  - 8. Ms. Carlisa S. Delpeche
  - 9. Ms. Mary Demirdjian
  - 10. Mr. Xavier Dunkley
  - 11. Mr. Christopher Ferrier
  - 12. Ms. Estefany G. Galindo
  - 13. Mr. Angel A. Garcia
  - 14. Ms. Alyssa Z. Grossman
  - 15. Ms. Nadia Habib
  - 16. Ms. Valeriya Ilazarova
  - 17. Ms. Ingrid Jaramillo-Estrella
  - 18. Ms. Gladys V. Juca
  - 19. Ms. Myoug Eun Kim
  - 20. Ms. Qi Li
  - 21. Mr. Renoir Lynch
  - 22. Mr. Henry Martin
  - 23. Ms. Malamatenia Mavrou
  - 24. Ms. Denise S. Miceli
  - 25. Ms. Kate M. Montero
  - 26. Ms. Daphney Neptune
  - 27. Mr. Champion Nichols
  - 28. Mr. Toor P. Noori
  - 29. Ms. Firmause Payen
  - 30. Ms. Lizeth Pecho
  - 31. Ms. Vanessa Restrepo
  - 32. Ms. Jessica Rosh

- 33. Ms. Rana Said
- 34. Ms. Eva Maria Santos-Tejada
- 35. Ms. Jennifer M. Severin
- 36. Ms. Sabrina Torchon
- 37. Mr. Edmond W. Williams Jr.
- 38. Mr. Chi Kwan Wong
- 39. Marvin A.Young

Compared with the previous academic year, this year's response to all scholarship awards was about the same. The Academic Merit Scholarship continued to receive strong response; three more students received this award this year. Seven more students from Queensborough were included in *Who's Who in American Junior Colleges* this year.