# Queensborough Community College

## The City of New York

#### Memorandum

To: Emily Tai, Chair, Academic Senate Steering Committee

From: Janice Molloy, Chair Bylaws Committee

Date: May 10, 2011

Re: Bylaws Committee, Annual Report 2010-2011

# The Committee on Bylaws - 2010/2011

Members: Janice Molloy (Chair)

- Danny Mangra (Secretary)
- Bryn Mader
- Linda Meltzer
- Tian Ren

## Liasions/Designees

- Liza Larios (Presidents Designee)
- Haishen Yao (Steering Committee Designee)

Our mission is to consider and make recommendations regarding the Bylaws of the Academic Senate, the Bylaws of the Board of Trustees, and upon request of the Executive Committee of the Faculty, and the Bylaws of the Faculty.

# **Activity**

The Committee met on September 22, 2010, September 29, 2010, and November 17, 2010. Our work this year addressed the following matters.

## 1. Senate Bylaws Article VI.I, Section I.G – Voting in the Academic Senate

This committee recommended to remove section I.G and end with V.I section f. It was agreed to eliminate the item G; which stated:

" Persons on leave shall retain the right to vote for representatives to the Academic Senate but shall not serve in the Academic Senate during the period of their leave."

The rationale is that many senators on fellowship leave continue to remain in the New York area and wish to continue service as senators. Their service and attendance is necessary to maintain a quorum.

This measure passed the Tuesday, October 12 meeting of the Academic Senate.

## 2. Name Change to the Committee on Distance Education

This committee submitted a proposal to change the names from Committee on Distance Education to the Committee on eLearning. This committee makes recommendations to the Academic Senate on all matters related to electronic teaching modalities, in particular, concerning policies and procedures related to the development of, support for and offering of programs, degrees and classes. Work on the assessment process and criteria related to the eLearning program of the college and report findings to the Academic Senate. Also, serve as an advisory body for all matters related to eLearning. The term eLearning comprises all forms of electronically supported teaching and learning. It is increasingly used to describe blended (partly asynchronous) and asynchronous education, instruction, and learning.

This would change Article 7, Section 19 from the Committee on Distance Education to the Committee on eLearning.

This measure was passed by the Academic Senate of Tuesday, December 14, 2011.

The Bylaws Committee for 2011-2012 academic years will be as follows:

Bryn Mader

Linda Meltzer (Chair)

Neera Mohess

Tian Ren (Secretary)

Eileen Tittmann

Linda Meltzer was elected Chair and Tian Ren as Secretary for the year 2011-2012. The student designee assigned for the fall semester has been passed on to the new Chair.

There remains no unfinished business for the fall 2010 and spring 2011 semesters. All changes to the Bylaws that have been forwarded to the QCC Webmaster and posted on the QCC Goverance website as of May 2011.

Many thanks to all the members of the Bylaws Committee for their time and help this past year. Welcome to Neera Mohess and Eileen Tittmann, the new members of the committee for the year 2011-2012.

Respectfully submitted,

Janice Molloy R.N.