QCC DISTANCE EDUCATION COMMITTEE

An Academic Senate Standing Committee

Minutes

Meeting of May 13, 2009 in H345 at 12:00pm

<u>Attending</u>: Tina Bayer, Francis Cotty, Helene Dunkelblau, Lorena Ellis, Peijun (Jeffery) Jia, Bruce Naples, and Edward Volchok

Absentees: Charles Neuman and the Students' reps. Angel Garcia and Clyde Shillingford

1. The minutes of the March 10, 2009 meeting were approved with revisions.

2. Chairperson's Report

Due to the disruption caused by Blackboard 8.0 outages during the Spring 2009 semester which had a negative impact on the delivery of fully asynchronous, hybrid and traditional on-campus courses which use Blackboard, Dr. Volchok expressed the need to inform faculty members about alternate modes as tool for disseminating information. Therefore, he asked all members of the DE Committee to revise the document drafted by Bruce Naples, Alternate Modes of Online Course Delivery at Queensborough Community College, before sending it to Dr. Emily Tai, chair of the Academic Senate Steering Committee for distribution.

Dr. Volchok confirmed that the chair of the Distance Education Committee was elected as chair of the Special Committee to Develop Online Education, and that the Special Committee members had met three times since its inception in April. The original list of committee members for the Special Committee to further On-Line Programs at Queensborough approved by the Academic Senate was as follows:

Department of Art and Design: Professor Anissa Mack Department of Basic Educational Skills: Dr. Helene Dunkelblau Department of Biological and Geological Sciences: Dr. Nidhi Gadura Department of Business: Dr. Edward Volchok Department of Chemistry: Dr. Jun Shin Department of Counseling: Dr. Wilma Fletcher-Anthony Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering Technology: Professor John Buoncora Department of English: Dr. Jean Darcy Department of Foreign Languages: Professor Indra Avens Department of Health, Physical Education and Dance: Dr. Alicia Sinclair Department of History: Dr. Kenneth Pearl Department of Library: Dr. Sara Rofofsky Marcus Department of Mathematics and Computer Science: Dr. Patrick Wallach Department of Mechanical Engineering Technology and Design Drafting: Dr. Joseph Goldenberg Department of Music: Professor Melanie Sehman Department of Nursing: Professor Patricia Burke Department of Physics: Dr. Alex Flamholz Department of Social Sciences: Dr. Caf Dowlah Department of Speech Communication and Theatre Arts: Professor Robert Sweetnam

3. Old Business

It was decided that the following matters: 1) Assessment of Learning Outcomes for Online Classes; 2) Observations of Online Faculty; and 3) Course Size Limits, will be discussed in detail in the Academic year 2009-2010.

4. New Business

Dr. Volchok welcomed the new members, Prof. Tina Bayer, Nursing; Prof. Peijun (Jeffery) Jia, Library, and thanked the members whose term expire September 1, 2009. Election of Chair and Secretary for 2009-2010 took place: Edward Volchok will be the Chair and Lorena Ellis will be the Secretary of the DE Committee during the 2009-2010 Academic year. Francis Cotty will continue as a member. Bruce Naples will be the President's Designee, and J. Urciuoli will be the COC Liaison. New students representatives will need to be appointed. The 2008-2009 Annual Report to the Steering committee will be finalized over the summer.

The meeting adjourned at 12:55pm. The next meeting will take place on September 15, 2009 at 3pm in Room H-345.

Respectfully submitted,

Lorena B. Ellis Secretary of the Distance Education Committee