# QUEENSBOROUGH COMMUNITY COLLEGE/THE CITY UNIVERSITY OF NEW YORK ACADEMIC SENATE

### ANNUAL REPORT OF THE COMMITTEE ON ELEARNING FOR 2010-2011

July 2, 2011

From: Edward Volchok, PhD

To: Prof. Barbara Blake-Campbell, Secretary of the Steering Committee of the Academic Senate

Cc: Dr. Emily Tai, Chair of the Steering Committee of the Academic Senate

With this memo, I am submitting the 2010-2011 Annual Report of the Committee on eLearning.

#### **Committee Members**

For the academic year 2010-2011, the committee was composed of the following members:

	Name	Department	Role
1	Dr. Edward Volchok	Business	Chair
2	Dr. Lorena Ellis	Foreign Languages	Secretary
3	Dr. Sara Rofofsky Marcus	Library	Faculty Representative
4	Dr. David Sarno	Chemistry	Faculty Representative
5	Dr. Melanie Sehman	Music	Faculty Representative
6	Dr. Julian Stark	Biological Sciences & Geology	Faculty Representative
7	Prof. Dolores Weber	Nursing	Faculty Representative
	Prof. Galatia Iakovou	Nursing	COC Liaison
	Mr. Bruce Naples	Director, ACC	President's Designee
	Dr. John Gordon	Mathematics & Computer Science	Steering Committee Designee
1	Elizabeth Lara		Student Representative
2	Joseph Lionarons		Student Representative

## Dates and Times of the Committee's Meetings

Except for our May 3<sup>rd</sup> meeting, committee met immediately after the Queensborough Community College Academic Senate meetings. We met on the following dates:

Fall 2010	Spring 2011
• September 23, 2010	• February 8, 2011
• October 12, 2010	• March 8, 2011
• November 9, 2010	• April 12, 2011
• December 13, 2010	• May 3, 2011

### Narrative Summary of the Committee's Work

The charge of the Committee on eLearning is to:

- Report and make recommendations to the Academic Senate on all matters related to eLearning, in particular, concerning policies and procedures related to the development of, support for and offering of programs, degrees and classes;
- Work on the assessment process and criteria related to the eLearning program of the College and report findings to the Academic Senate;
- Serve as an advisory body for all matters related to eLearning.

## Summary of the Committee's Work During 2010-2011

Working with the Committee on By-laws and approved by the Academic Senate during the Plenary meeting in December 2010, the Committee changed its official name from the Committee on Distance Education to the Committee on eLearning.

The committee has been busy during the 2010-2011 academic year. Here is a summary of the committee's work.

At the start of the Fall semester, the Office of Academic Affairs formed an informal advisory committee called the eLearning Planning Group or eTeam for short. This group relied heavily on input from it members who also sit on the Committee on eLearning. This committee is composed of the following members of the Committee on eLearning: Dr. Edward Volchok, and President's Designee Bruce Naples, Director of the Academic Computing Center. Other members of the eLearning Planning Group include: Dr. Karen B. Steele (Interim Vice President for Academic Affairs), Dr. Paul Marchese (Assistant Dean for Academic Operations), Dr. Meg Tarafdar (Associate Director of CETL), Dr. Edward Hanssen (Business), and Dr. Philip A. Pecorino (Social Sciences). The eTeam established the College's eLearning Faculty Development Program in which participants attend a two-week Institute, develop and then teach their online courses.

The Committee on eLearning vetted issues raised by the eLearning Planning Group. The suggestions of the Committee on eLearning were then relayed to the eLearning Planning Group.

The Committee provided input on how to improve the college's Student eLearning Readiness Program. Members of the committee contributed to building awareness of this program among faculty by announcing this initiative at their respective department meetings.

### New Members for 2011-2012

The following members will be leaving the committee this September:

- Dr. Lorena Ellis Foreign Languages
- Dr. Julian Stark Biological Sciences & Geology
- Dr. Edward Volchok Business
- Professor Dolores Weber Nursing

For the academic year 2011-2012, the committee's members are:

	Name	Department	Role
1	Dr. Dona Boccio	Mathematics & Computer Sciences	Faculty Representative
2	Prof. Barbara Blake-Campbell	Nursing	Faculty Representative
3	Dr. Sunil Dehipawala	Physics	Faculty Representative
4	Dr. Anissa Moody	Social Sciences	Faculty Representative
5	Dr. Sara Rofofsky Marcus	Library	Chair*
6	Dr. David Sarno	Chemistry	Faculty Representative
7	Dr. Melanie Sehman	Music	Secretary*
	Dr. Mangala Tawde	Biological Sciences & Geology	COC Liaison
	Mr. Bruce Naples	Director, ACC	President's Designee
	Dr. John Gordon	Mathematics & Computer Science	Steering Committee Designee
1	Student Member 1	Vacant	Student Representative
2	Student Member 2	Vacant	Student Representative
* 171	111 2 2011		-

\*Elected May 3, 2011

## Key Items on the Agenda for 2011-2012

- Provide input on technological and pedagogical support for faculty designing eLearning classes
- Provide input on the college's adopted standard for effective eLearning education
- Provide input on the curriculum of the Faculty's Online Institute
- Provide input on the Student Online Readiness Program including developing outlines for student videos highlighting the curriculum of this program
- Provide input regarding the college's eLearning program
- Provide input regarding learning outcomes assessment for eLearning Courses
- Monitoring reliability of Blackboard and Epsilen, and provide advice to the college community when appropriate
- Develop protocols of departmental observations for eLearning courses PNET and FNET classes

- Review the procedure for Student evaluations of faculty teaching PNET classes
- If needed, present resolutions restricting class size for eLearning classes

As chair of the Committee on eLearning, I'd like to express my gratitude to all the members of this committee for their diligence and dedication. Each member has made important contributions. And, I'd I thank the Steering Committee for their on-going support and sage guidance.

Respectfully, submitted,

Edward Volchok, PhD Chair, Committee on eLearning