QUEENSBOROUGH COMMUNITY COLLEGEThe City University of New York

COMMITTEE ON THE LIBRARY

To: Steering Committee, Academic Senate

From: Mark D. Van Ells, Chairperson

Date: October 2007

Subject: Annual Report of the Committee on the Library

Committee Members: Mark D. Van Ells (chairperson and secretary), Jose Osorio, Constance Williams, Virginia Cowen (Steering Committee designee), Devin Feldman (ex officio), Jeanne Galvin (ex officio).

Dates committee met: 19 September 2006, 24 October 2006, 5 December 2006, 28 February 2007, 21 March 21 2007, 18 April 2007, 16 May 2007.

Narrative summery of committee work:

The committee's work during the 2006-2007 academic year can be broken down into basic areas. First, the committee monitored the library environment in order to maintain a suitable workplace for students and faculty. The committee contacted campus security regarding safety and security procedures for the library. The committee also addressed the issue of obtaining textbooks from the campus bookstore for student use, and approved a resolution for providing retired faculty with library privileges. Resuming the work of the previous year, the committee also monitored action on the recommendations from a 2006 administration report on the "campus learning center," such as the recommendation that cubicles for library staff be constructed. Pursuit of these recommendations was hampered by personnel turnover both of the Vice President of Academic Affairs and the Chief Librarian. These positions were not filled until relative late in the academic year. The administration report and its recommendations will be monitored again during the 2007-2008 academic year.

Second, the library spent considerable time assessing how the library met the needs of faculty members, who are required to use library facilities in order to achieve tenure and promotion. The committee drew up a questionnaire for faculty members about their library expectations, experiences, and needs. These questions will be submitted to the faculty as part of the Middle States reaccredidation process during the 2007-2008 academic year.

New Committee Members for 2007-2008: Mark D. Van Ells, Baher Baheri, Virginia Cowen, John Imhof (Steering Committee designee).

New Chairperson for 2007-2008: Mark D. Van Ells