QUEENSBOROUGH COMMUNITY COLLEGE

The City University of New York

Minutes of the meeting of the Senate Committee on Academic Development/Elective Academic Programs held on Wednesday, May 17th, 2017 at 12:00 pm in L-314.

Present: Tirandai Hemraj-Benny (Chairperson); Neera Mohess (Faculty); Vazgen Shekoyan (Faculty); Anuradha Srivastava (Faculty); Nicole Lopez-Jantzen (Faculty); Ilse Schrynemakers (Faculty); Merlinda Drini (Faculty); Yusuf Gurtas (Faculty); Kathleen Landy (CETL);

Excused: Mirna Lekic (Secretary); Emily Berry (Faculty); Jodi Van Der Horn-Gibson (Faculty); Rezan Akpinar (Faculty)

- **1.** Minutes for 3/29/17 meeting were approved.
- 2. The continuing and new members of the committee introduced themselves to each other.
- **3.** The chairperson, Dr. Hemraj-Benny, provided the members with a summary report for Fall 2016-Spring 2017. Future goals for the committee were discussed, which include having an ADC speaker during the Spring semester, analyzing the data obtained from survey on faculty evaluation, and collaborating with CETL to promote events.
- **4.** An election for Chairperson and Secretary for 2017-2018 were held. Dr. Hemraj-Benny was nominated by Drs. Shekoyan and Lopez-Jantzen to continue as Chairperson. Dr. Hemraj-Benny nominated Neera Mohess to serve as Secretary. Elections were held by secret ballot. Seven voting committee members were present. Dr. Tirandai Hemraj-Benny received 7 votes to serve as Chairperson. Dr. Neera Mohess received 7 votes to serve as Secretary.

The meeting was adjourned at 1:00 pm.

Submitted by Tirandai Hemraj-Benny