#### QUEENSBOROUGH COMMUNITY COLLEGE

The City University of New York

Minutes of the meeting of the Senate Committee on Academic Development/Elective Academic Programs on May 11, 2016, at 1:00 pm in room S-418.

**Present**: Emily Berry (Faculty); Jodi Van Der Horn-Gibson (Faculty); Yusuf Gurtas (Faculty); Tirandai Hemraj-Benny (Chairperson); Mirna Lekic (Faculty); Nicole Lopez-Jantzen (Faculty); Susan McLaughlin (Secretary); Sandra Palmer (Dean of Faculty); Vazgen Shekoyan (Faculty); Anuradha Srivastava (Faculty)

**Excused:** Neera Mohess (Faculty); Ryan Moore (Faculty); Susan Jakobwitz (Faculty)

- 1. Minutes of Mar. 2, 2016, approved.
- 2. The committee welcomed the new committee members, and confirmed that committee meetings will continue to take place on the first Wednesday of every month during club hours.
- 3. Elections for Chairperson and Secretary were held.

Nominations:

- (a) Tirandai Hemraj-Benny was nominated by Emily Berry to continue as Chairperson. The nomination was seconded by Nicole Lopez-Jantzen.
- (b) Mirna Lekic was nominated by Tirandai Hemraj-Benny to serve as Secretary. The nomination was seconded by Emily Berry.

Elections were held by secret ballot. 8 voting committee members were present.

(a) Chairperson:

8 votes for Tirandai Hemraj-Benny

0 abstentions

Note: 1 vote for Tirandai Hemraj-Benny was discarded, as it was a vote by a non-continuing committee member.

(b) Secretary:

8 votes for Mirna Lekic

0 abstentions

**Election Results:** 

Continuing Chairperson: Tirandai Hemraj-Benny

Secretary: Mirna Lekic

4. The charge of the committee was reviewed for the new committee members.

5. Chairperson Tirandai Hemraj-Benny presented her recommendations for future committee activities, and these recommendations were discussed by the committee.

# (a) Update committee documents.

Since the Guide for Committee on Academic Development Members (posted on the college website) was written in 2007, the committee agreed that this document should be reviewed and updated. In addition, the committee will review the charge of the committee from the Academic Senate.

- **(b) Review the student evaluations of faculty.** The committee agreed that it would review the current student evaluation form and provide suggestions as to how the format/questions in the evaluation form could be improved.
- (c) Create a bi-weekly or monthly newsletter/video to inform Queensborough faculty about campus events that promote faculty development. The committee agreed that events presented in the newsletter should be assorted into categories (e.g., STEM events, arts events, etc.). Emily Berry suggested that audiofiles/videos could be made for events, and these could then be placed in a database that could be accessed by the campus community. The committee agreed that it should work with the organizers of the college Events Calendar when designing the newsletter.
- 6. The committee formed 3 subcommittees, each of which will work on one of the activities listed above. Subcommittees will meet at times outside of regular committee meetings, and then will present their recommendations to the committee as a whole.

## **Subcommittee for updating documents**

- 1. Tirandai Hemraj-Benny
- 2. Nicole Lopez-Jantzen
- 3. Anuradha Srivastava
- 4. Sandra Palmer

## Subcommittee for student evaluation of faculty

- 1. Yusuf Gurtas
- 2. Neera Mohess
- 3. Vazgen Shekoyan

## Subcommittee for newsletter/video

- 1. Emily Berry
- 2. Mirna Lekic
- 3. Jodi Van Der Horn-Gibson
- 7. The meeting adjourned at 2:00 pm. Respectfully submitted,

Susan McLaughlin